Thursday, May 24, 2007

Sioux Falls to Ordain Eight Deacons, Four Priests

This week, Bishop Paul Swain will preside at the first ordinations since becoming bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Sioux Falls last fall.

Today, eight men will be ordained deacons of the church, and on Friday, four will be ordained priests.

Both liturgies will begin at 11 a.m. at St. Joseph Cathedral and are open to the public.

Today's ordinations include Dr. Ed Anderson and Kevin Doyle, who will be transitional deacons, meaning they are on track to become priests next year.

Both are second-career vocations - Anderson is a doctor, and Doyle is an accountant.

The other six will be permanent deacons, meaning they are not to become priests but rather will serve the local church immediately.

All are married and they come from around eastern South Dakota: John Devlin, Sioux Falls; Tom Bates, Sisseton; Jim Hayes, Mitchell; Steve McLaughlin Sr., Fort Thompson; Joseph Twidwell Jr., Dakota Dunes; and Micheal Wambach, Ipswich.

Those to be ordained priests on Friday are the Rev. Shane Stevens and the Rev. David Garza, both of Sioux Falls; the Rev. Thomas Anderson, Pierre, and the Rev. Kevin Zilverberg, Harrold.

Each completed his studies at St. John Vianney Theological Seminary in Denver. Argus Leader

1 comment:

Fr. Andrew said...

Christus Vincet! Four great men, who, God willing, will endure as great priests. I went to seminary with the four of them: Deacons Zilverberg, Anderson, Stevens, and Garza.