Friday, August 24, 2007



Each year, the TEC Conference acknowledges individuals for their exemplary commitment to Catholic youth and young adults with a Spirit of TEC Award. The 2007 recipients, presenting 21dioceses throughout the U.S, include two bishops, five priests, one religious and 33 lay adult and young adult leaders.

“On behalf of the TEC Leadership Council and Conference staff, I would like to congratulate each of you for receiving the 2007 Spirit of TEC Award. You are true gifts to both the TEC Movement and your local TEC community. May the Lord continue to bless you and be the light on your faith journey; even as you serve as His light to others,” said TEC Conference Director Ronald Reiter.

Since 1990, nearly 500 people have been honored with this distinction. Nominees are selected by their local TEC communities for committed service to the youth and young adults of the Church; contributing to the TEC ministry in a significant way on a local or regional level; and witnessing Paschal Mystery spirituality in their daily lives.

The 2007 Spirit of TEC Award Winners (in order of TEC community) in our area are:
• Agape (Diocese of Superior, Wis.)-Rev. Michael J. Tupa
• Agassiz Valley (Diocese of Crookston, Minn.)-Most Rev. Victor Balke
• Kairos (Madison, Wis. Diocese)-Barb Wills
• Pathways (Diocese of Winona, Minn.)- Peter and Ann Langworthy
• Twin Cities (Archdiocese of St. Paul/Minneapolis, Minn.)-Ralph and Lynn Pierre

For more information about the TEC Movement, contact (636) 933-9233 or; or visit online at

TEC—an acronym for Teens, Troops, Twenties, To and Together Encounter Christ—is a Catholic movement of spirituality for older adolescents and young adults founded in Battle Creek, Mich. in 1965. Focusing on the Paschal Mystery, TEC helps 8,000 young people each year deepen their relationship with Christ and discern their vocation within the larger Church. TEC is affiliated with the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry; National Catholic Young Adult Ministry Association; and the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops through its Episcopal Moderator Most Rev. Roger L. Schwietz, OMI, Anchorage, Alaska. [Former Bishop of Duluth] Catholic OnLine

No comments: