Monday, August 21, 2006

Celebration of Deacon Candidacy - Archdiocese of Dubuque

The fourteen new members of Deacon Formation Class XIII for the Archdiocese of Dubuque were admitted as candidates on Saturday, Aug. 12, by Archbishop Jerome Hanus, OSB, at Queen of Peace Church, Waterloo. They are: Alan Christy of St. Cecilia’s, Ames; Tim Post of St. John’s, Independence; Félex Hernández of St. Mary’s, Marshalltown; Horacio Quiles of St. Patrick’s, Dubuque; Héctor Hernández of St. Patrick’s, Hampton; Dennis Mulherin of St. Pius X, Cedar Rapids; and Pedro Garcia of St. John’s, Clarion; Diego Ramirez of Immaculate Conception, Cedar Rapids; John Stierman of Holy Ghost, Dubuque; Dave Loecke of St. Mary’s, Manchester; Ray Noonan of St. Matthias, Cascade; Rigoberto Real of Queen of Peace, Waterloo; Jim Patera of Sacred Heart, Oelwein; and Nick Francois of St. Benedict’s, Decorah. Three more years of formation await them before ordination.

Well, being that six of the candidates appear to be Hispanic from the spelling of their names, it would certainly appear that many Iowa's new Hispanic residents are wasting no time in sharing their talents and spirituality with others. What a blessing for the Church and for the Hispanic community in Iowa!

No comments: